Dangerfield wins Brownlow with votes record

Dangerfield wins Brownlow with votes record

Patrick Dangerfield won the Brownlow Medal as the AFL’s fairest and best player with a record number of votes. The Cats superstar enrolled 35 votes, exceeding the record of Dane Swan who won the Brownlow in 2011 with 34 votes.

He also bypassed Luke Parker who claimed 26 votes, while Dustin Martin came third with 25 votes.

He added the award to his AFL Players Association and AFL Coaches Association gongs.

Patrick acknowledged his team mates.

He said, “I feel so lucky to be involved in such a wonderful football club,” he said on stage at Crown Casino.”

“I don’t think any individual that ever stands up here, stands up here just because of themselves.”

Dangerfield enrolled also 15 matches more than any previous winner!

Dangerfield’s prize came in the first season at Simonds stadium.

Since the 2007 draft, Patrick sought a trade to Geelong to be closer to his home town in Moggs Greek.

His superior season began with a best-afield showing against the premiers Hawthorn and continued to ascend after that.

The 26-year-old counted an unbelievable 48 possessions during a round 12 match against North Melbourne.

His previous vote efforts ties with the former winners Nat Fyfe (2015) and Greg Williams (1994).

Patrick also bypassed Cats captain Joel Selwood who claimed 18 votes.

“I’ve been so lucky to spend the year with Joel,” he said.

“He’s such a courageous player. I don’t know how you measure will but I don’t know if anyone’s ever played with more of it.”