Toolooa State High School 2019 Awards Evening

Toolooa State High School 2019 Awards Evening

I’m always proud to be the principal of Toolooa State High School, but our annual Awards’ Evening is a special occasion where I can really reflect on just how fantastic our students are, and it makes me beam with pride each and every year seeing just how impressive our students really are.  I’d like to sincerely congratulate every single student who was recognised at our Awards’ Evening this year, and acknowledge the hard work and dedication that you’ve put into your studies in 2019.

I give my thanks to those who were in attendance on the night and, in particular, our special invited guests – Mayor Matt Burnett, Mr Peter Corones, Dr Emma Jackson, Mr Brian Swart and Mr Bruce Hunt – all well-respected, upstanding members of our community who unwaveringly support our school.  Additionally, I’d like to thank Amritesh Savnak, our 2018 school Dux, for taking time out of his studies (Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery) and for his inspiring and entertaining speech on the evening.  We feel fortunate to have hosted you for the evening and I know that our students enjoyed the opportunity to hear your words of wisdom.

Such an impressive evening does not come together on its own.  I thank my staff who assisted with the preparation of the evening, Rachael Hartwig, Jess Batey, Meghan Gwynne, Gerard Clark, Georgia Nicol and Georgia Milne, along with Carol Slape for the instrumental music.

It gives me great pleasure to welcome the 2020 School Captains – Jack Ryan and Heath Laner – along with the Vice Captains – Hannah Gorton and Hannah Ryan.  I know that they will do a tremendous job and I look forward to working with them across the next 12 months.

As the school year draws to an end, I thank our entire school community for their contributions this year.  Every member plays an integral part in making our school the incredible place that it is to work and learn.