41st Rio Tinto Martin Hanson Memorial Art Awards Winners Announced

41st Rio Tinto Martin Hanson Memorial Art Awards Winners Announced

A crowd of hundreds arrived to the Gladstone Regional Art Gallery & Museum for the official launch and Awards presentation of ‘The 41st Rio Tinto Martin Hanson Memorial Art Awards’ on Saturday evening, 15 October.

Guest speakers included Aunty Juliri Ingra, Gooreng Gooreng Elder, Cr Matt Burnett, Mayor of Gladstone Region, Jo Duke, Curator, Gladstone Regional Art Gallery & Museum, and Peter Harrington, Acting General Manager, Rio Tinto Yarwun, who officially opened the exhibition.

$38,000 of prizes was awarded on the night as the winners were announced by this year’s judge, Jason Smith, Director, Geelong Gallery.



The Rio Tinto Martin Hanson Memorial Art Award: $15,000
Blair Coffey, Conquest

The John Anderson Memorial Acquisitive Award, Sponsored by Anderson’s Auto City: $5,000
Adrienne Williams, Storms Along the Sierra Vista Trail

The Pieter Groen-int-woud Memorial Young Emerging Artist Award, Sponsored by Multitrade: $1,500
Ellie Tregaskis, Death, what’s next?

The Local Murri Artist Award, Sponsored by Elizabeth and Leo Zussino: $1,000
Sharilee Marr, Mining Matters

The Gail Sellers Local Artist Award: $1,000
Marci Russo, Pa Trilogy

The Installers Choice Award, Sponsored by Laureen Tkacik and GRAGM:
Andreia Pereira, This house is full of madness


The Gladstone Area Water Board Award: $2,000
Jo Williams, Still Life with Chairs

The Christian Thomsen Award: $1,000
Carmen Beezley-Drake, The Wattle Tree

The Gladstone Picture Framing (Open Order) Award: $500
Collin Hatter, Upside Down

Section 1 Highly Commended
Robin Zimmerlie, The Way I Feel


The Australia Pacific LNG Award: $2,000
Ping Carlyon, Good Morning Gladstone

The Bush Family Award: $1,000
Matthew Newkirk, Blind Man’s Bluff

The Jeff Spann Award: $500
Henri van Noordenburg, Composition XXXVI       3/5

Section 2 Highly Commended
Beau-Dean Moloney, DE-CONSTRUCTION


The Gladstone Ports Corporation Award: $2,000
Christine Holden, Jellyfish Blues

The Swift Award: $1,000
Jan Strudwick, I love a sunburnt country…

The Queensland Energy Resources (QER) Award: $500
Lidia Godijn, Indigo, Silk, a Japanese Connection

Section 3 Highly Commended
John Cooper, A fish set for an Industrial Ocean


The McDonald’s Gladstone Region Award: $2,000
Hayley Groves George and Susie Lewis, Battlefield: Known Enemy

The CQUniversity Award: $1,000
Tracey-Lea Smith, Passing Time

The Creative Gladstone Region Inc. and Crow Street Creative Award: $500
Lynda Black, The Passing and The Farewell

Section 4 Highly Commended
Michelle Wagner, Fred

The exhibition is now on display until 8 December.  Visitors are invited to cast their vote for The QAL People’s Choice Awards in each of the four sections of entry; Easel Paintings; Works on Paper; Three Dimensional & Fibre Works; and Digital Works.  Voting closes 12 noon, Monday 5 December, with the winners announced, Wednesday 7 December.