The 42nd Rio Tinto Martin Hanson Memorial Art Awards 2017 Winners Announced

The 42nd Rio Tinto Martin Hanson Memorial Art Awards 2017 Winners Announced

A crowd of hundreds arrived to the Gladstone Regional Art Gallery & Museum for the official launch and Awards presentation of ‘The 42nd Rio Tinto Martin Hanson Memorial Art Awards’ on Saturday evening, 14 October 2017.

Guest speakers included Michael Eggmolese, Bailai Elder, Glenn Butcher, Local Member, Cr Matt Burnett, Mayor of Gladstone Region, Jo Duke, Curator, Gladstone Regional Art Gallery & Museum, and Mike Dunstan, General Manager, QAL, who officially opened the exhibition.

$38,000 of prizes was awarded on the night as the winners were announced by this year’s judge, Patricia Hoffie.



The Rio Tinto Martin Hanson Memorial Art Award: $15,000

Julie Poulsen, Interior with drawing board #2

 The John Anderson Memorial Acquisitive Award, Sponsored by Anderson’s Auto City: $5,000

Penny Mason, Weather Event – Debris Cloud #2

The Pieter Groen-int-woud Memorial Young Emerging Artist Award, Sponsored by Multitrade: $1,500

Kate Simons, Determination

Young Emerging Artist Highly Commended Paige Sparks, Political Stance

The Local Murri Artist Award, Sponsored by Elizabeth and Leo Zussino: $1,000

Bindi Waugh, Should Race Define Place The Gail Sellers Local Artist Award: $1,000 Rosemary Anderson, A Drop of Salt Water

The Installers Choice Award, Sponsored by Laureen Tkacik: $500 Brenda Lyon, Soul Pods


The Gladstone Area Water Board Award: $2,000

Kevin Duthie, Rustic Gold, Mount Morgan

The Christian Thomsen Award: $1,000

Max James Geoffrey Berry, Single Tree in Field

The Queensland Energy Resources (QER) Award: $500 Deborah Mostert, The Goldfinch Redeemed

Section 1 Highly Commended

Beryl Wood, And the hunter home from the hill


The Australia Pacific LNG Award: $2,000

Gabrielle McDonald, Celebration of the Hunt

 The Bush Family Award: $1,000

Cholena Drew Hughes, Rejuvenation

 The Jeff Spann Award: $500

Ann Brown, The State I’m In

 Section 2 Highly Commended

Joanne Kerr, Colours of the Gorge – Suite of Six


The Gladstone Ports Corporation Award: $2,000

Clinton Cross, Life goes on but will always be remembered

The Newprint HRG Award: $1,000

Katrina Elliott, Hallelujah… a secret chord

The O’Reilly Family Award: $500

Claudia Wehrli, Coral Bowl

 Section 3 Highly Commended

Joy Ivill, Hanrahan’s Angel

Section 3 Highly Commended

Jo Williams, Primal Key


The McDonald’s Gladstone & Boyne Island Award: $2,000

Nicola Hooper, Subvertere: A zoonotic narrative

The CQUniversity Award: $1,000 Ash Coates, Mycolinguistics

The Creative Gladstone Region Inc. Award: $500

Roxanne Brand, China Plates / Waiting for Cake

Section 4 Highly Commended

Kyle Piper, Gladstone


The exhibition is now on display until Thursday 7 December 2017.  Visitors are invited to cast their vote for The QAL People’s Choice Awards  in each of the four sections of entry; Easel Paintings; Works on Paper; Three Dimensional & Fibre Works; and Digital Works.  Voting closes 5pm, Thursday 30 November 2017, with the winners announced, Monday 3 December 2017.  Just for voting, visitors go in the draw to win an all expense paid, weekend getaway for two to Heron Island.

The Gladstone Regional Art Gallery & Museum is located on the corner of Goondoon & Bramston Streets, Gladstone and is open 10am – 5pm, Monday to Saturday, with FREE entry.