Tannum Sands SHS Awards Evening

Tannum Sands SHS Awards Evening

Our annual Awards Evening is our special occasion to congratulate the exceptional young people at Tannum Sands State High School, and recognise each and every awardee for their hard work and dedication, and making the most of opportunities to achieve their best.

This year our Awards Night format  had to change due to COVID restrictions and we have held  Junior and Senior ceremonies with restricted numbers so we would like to take this opportunity to celebrate the outstanding achievements of our students with our wider school community.

I would like to recognise the student achieving the highest OP in 2019 – Atticus Plath. Atticus has accepted a position into the University of Queensland postgraduate Doctor Program and is completing an Engineering Degree as his undergraduate studies. In his speech, read on the evening  by Mr Paymon , Atticus’s previous Mathematics teacher and Head of Department, Atticus highlighted that achieving an OP 1 was not an easy task, and that he had a lot of support from his teachers, family and friends. Congratulations Atticus on your outstanding achievement and we look forward to hearing about your continuing success in the future.

I would also like to recognise our community members who would normally attend our Awards Evening. We acknowledge and appreciate your unwavering support as leaders in our community, as well as sponsors of our Awards Evening and Champions for our school.

Our guest speakers are traditionally Alumni who return to deliver words of wisdom, challenge and reflection stemming from their journeys as they have ‘Created their Futures’. Thank you to Lachy Hughes (Class of 2011) for presenting at our Junior Awards and Andrew Frankham (Class of 2002) for presenting virtually at our Senior Awards.

Such an impressive celebration as our Awards Evening does not come together on its own.  I thank our staff who have contributed to its organisation: Tarah Vardy, Rebecca Robinson, Carol Shuttleworth , Cassandra Madsen and Nick Hambling.

Our students are our school leaders and our leaders for the future. To our outgoing team, thank you for all you have contributed to providing leadership and opportunities for our school community. To our 2020 – 2021 Student Leadership Team, School Captains – Courtney Fitzsimmons and Thomas Watson, and Vice Captains – Campbell Jarvis and Samantha Vardy, you have commenced your leadership term with energy and commitment. I know you will do a great job and I look forward to your achievements on behalf of our student body.

In a year of challenge and responding to change, the excellence of our students has been consistent.

We are justifiably proud of all of the improvements in learning each student has made throughout the school year.  It is through the commitment and growth mindsets of our students to learn, participate and contribute that our school is recognised for excellence, and our students travel into their futures well prepared to succeed and to flourish.

As we move towards the end of the 2020 school year, I would like to thank our entire school community for your contribution to upholding our school values of Respect, Responsibility and Excellence. Our students and school have much to be grateful for when they have the support of a  an incredibly hard working staff, a supportive P & C and a community that values our school  and invests in our Mission – ‘Creating our Futures’.